Otterbein Physics Blog

News And Psuedo-Random Blurts from the Otterbein University Physics Department

Nobel Prize in Physics 2020

without comments

The Nobel Prize in Physics for 2020 has been awarded for black hole physics. Sir Roger Penrose shared half the prize “for the discovery that black hole formation is a robust prediction of the general theory of relativity”, and the other half was awarded jointly to Reinhard Genzel and Andrea Ghez “for the discovery of a supermassive compact object at the centre of our galaxy.”

Professor Ghez (of UCLA) was the Science Lecture Series speaker at Otterbein in 2011!

Written by David Robertson

October 6th, 2020 at 10:06 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply