Otterbein Physics Blog

News And Psuedo-Random Blurts from the Otterbein University Physics Department

Otterbein Nobel Symposium 2019

without comments

On November 12, Otterbein held a symposium on the 2019 Nobel Prizes, organized by Prof. Aida Odobasic of the Department of Business, Accounting, and Economics. Prof. Robertson presented the Physics prize, which this year went to Jim Peebles (1/2) for his work on theories of cosmology, and to Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz (1/4 each) for their discovery of an extra-solar planet orbiting a solar-type star. Profs. Dean Johnston (Chemistry) and Jennifer Bennett (Biology and Earth Science) discussed the Chemistry and Medicine/Physiology prizes. Dr. Odobasic spoke about the Economics prize. The event was a great success and we hope it will be repeated in coming years.

Written by David Robertson

January 4th, 2020 at 11:05 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply